CairnTalk

Exercise

Midge

Can anyone advise on how much exercise a puppy should be allowed? My little Midge is just over 4 months and gets two walks each day, one on a lead and one off the lead in open safe spaces; each time about 30 minutes. I limit rough and tumble with other dogs but she loves a chase with her doggie friends. I also have a large garden and which she delights in exploring (under supervision) several times a day. What about running up and down stairs; at present I don't allow that. Some advice from experienced owners would be appreciated. Thanks.

Maisie is my first Cairn so I'm not an expert on the breed, however, I let Maisie do whatever she wants and is able to do.  When she was 4 months old, she had a German Shepherd sister who was 6 months older than her and they would rough house and play all day long, with Maisie being the one to initiate the  play.  She'd jump up and bite Tess' tail and then run and hide under the couch were Tess couldn't get her.  She did not fear much. She was afraid of going down stairs that were steep but she eventually grew out of it.  When we go on walks, I let her tell me when she is too tired or too hot to go on, sometimes she'll lie down.  

Use your own discretion, I think Midge will let you know if she's had too much.  Looking forward to seeing more pictures of your little cutie pie!

Edited by LindaMC

Idaho Cairns

You have to be comfortable with the activities you allow for your pup.  We have never restricted ours in any way since our experience is that Cairns are intelligent enough to self regulate when it comes to exercise--they know when to stop, slow down, and go for more.  Cairns are also pretty rugged as a breed, they are small but they can handle some pretty rough situations with other dogs, at least in our experience.