CairnTalk

Anyone Feeding Raw?

LindaMC

I started feeding both Maisie and Tess 1/2 raw food and 1/2 a quality kibble.  What I mean is kibble with Goats Milk in the a.m. and raw for the evening meal.  I have been doing a lot of reading up on it, especially before I started but I'm very new at it and it would be nice to hear from other's who are feeding their Cairns raw.   

It's only been 4 days, today is the 5th but I do notice a difference in their teeth and their stools.  One of the reasons I started feeding them raw, and there are so many valid reasons, is due to Tess' bowel movements, they've been loose for some time now and large amounts where I'm feeding her grain free food!.  With the 1/2 raw diet they are smaller and harder, so I know her body's getting a lot more nutrients.

Maisie loves it, she finishes before Tess all the time and then sits there and watches Tess eat hers.. :innocent: .  She was awesome at chowing down on her first chicken thigh.  Not sure yet if I'll go 100% raw yet, I have to first see how it works out financially.

Where they're just starting out, I'm sticking to one protein for 1-2 weeks and adding a new protein on week 3, give and take a day or two.  So right now  they're eating chicken thighs and chicken quarter legs.  They also get salmon oil and last night I added a raw egg.  When it comes to giving them tripe, I'm not sure if I'll be able to do it, I don't think I could stand the smell in my kitchen. :o  

I am very interested in this, and would love to hear what others are feeding their dogs.  As our little farm begins to grow, I will have free range chicken and goat's milk available and wondered how hard it will be to make the switch.  Currently he eats Taste of the Wild and has no issues.