CairnTalk

Naughty Naughty Cairn! Need help!

nclar0523

Hello! I have a 4 1/2 month old cairn named Rory since June 1st; I got him from a well known breeder and he is awesome! I did alot of research and years of thinking before getting him, and I knew that I would be in for alot of fiesty and intelligent behavior once he was here- and boy do I have fiesty behavior and then some! I do not regret getting him, but he is trying my patience and I hate to admit it, actually outsmarts me sometimes! I guess I am looking to see if 1.) his behavior is typical for cairn puppies and 2.) around what age do cairns calm down slightly

Short background:

- I work as a night RN 12 hours, 3 times a week- I realize this is not ideal, but after literally years of research I decided I could make it work and provide a good life for the puppy/dog, he is penned in a very small kitchen with the crate door open and a pee pad on one side; I did not want to leave the puppy in the crate for 14 hours like the other nurses.

- I live in a tiny apartment where there are many other dogs in the complex (some aggressive, many with behavior probs like CONSTANT barking)

- He gets a minimum 1/2 hour walk every day, many times 45 min to an hour, including alot of jogging/sprinting- he seems wiped out afterwards

- He gets daily obedience training from me and will go to puppy classes soon for socialization